After getting together in homes for some time, the first official Informational Meeting of these West Point history buffs was held on January 17th, 2001, followed by several enjoyable gatherings with Show and Tell of old-time photographs being the programs. That fall, complications in the lives of those who had been the spear-heads caused a hiatus of about a year, but efforts began again with an important Decision Making Meeting called by Joan and Patti, held on October 23, 2002. The decision was to keep going!

First Members of The West Point Area Historical Society

First HS Meeting

 The first few gatherings of the society were in members homes.
Above, at Pine Crest Farm: Charleen (Chrisler) Richmond, Karon (Kohn) Hamilton, Della (Endres) Ryan,
Patti (Gottschall) Schuknecht, Joan (Miller) Ryan, Carol (Grant) Troestler, and Chris (Coyle) Ryan


 Our first official meeting at the old Town Hall:
Karon Hamilton, Charleen Richmond, Chris Ryan, Joan Ryan, Della Ryan, Patti Schuknecht

The West Point Town Board has been very supportive of our fledgling West Point Area Historical Society, even arranging for us to operate under the newly formed West Point Area Historical Commission. Officers are elected every year during the Annual Meeting held in May and all eligible society members can vote.


Mary Ann Johnson (President)(Treasurer)
Emily Carncross (Vice President)

First West Point Area Historical Commission

Seated: Joan Ryan, Mary Ann Johnson, and Patti Schuknecht.
Standing: Chris Ryan, Carol Troestler, Ed Jacobsen, Charleen Richmond, Karon Hamilton and Della Ryan.

The swearing in of the members of the West Point Area Historical Commission in 2003 was a culmination of dedicated work on by-laws and policies. Now the enthusiastic group is ready to reap the rewards of those labors by fulfilling the designated functions of collecting and preserving history of the Town of West Point to share with contemporaries and posterity.

The West Point Area Historical Commission & West Point Area Historical Society identities are such that the Commission works like a board of directors and the society is a working committee.

The Commission meets on the first Tuesday of the uneven numbered months and the Society meetings are on the first Tuesday of the even numbered months at the Town Hall, at 7:00 p.m.

CURRENT COMMISSIONERS: Appointed by the West Point Town Board with staggered 3 year terms.

Chris Ryan, & Diane Kazmierczak (terms expiring end of April 2025)
Mary Ann Johnson, & Alan Treinen (terms expiring end of April 2026)
Kris Lehman & Emily Carncross (terms expiring end of April 2024)


Kris Lehman (Chair) 
Emily Carncross (Vice Chair)
Mary Ann Johnson (Secretary)(Treasurer)