## Town of West Point Plan Commission Minutes May 20, 2021

Pursuant to Wisconsin State Statutes s. 19.84 the Plan Commission of the Town of West Point held its semi-monthly meeting on Thursday, May 20, 2021 via Zoom. The meeting agenda was posted in three places as required by law and on the Town's website. Chairman Kevin Kessler called the meeting to order at 7:10 pm. Members in attendance were Kevin Kessler (Town Board Representative), Byron Olson, Nathan Sawyer, Renee Nair, Ron Grasshoff, Ben Carlson, and Darrell Lehman. Also present was Taffy Buchanan, Clerk.

<u>Agenda #2 – Approval of Agenda</u> – A motion was made by Darrell Lehman to approve the agenda with flipping #7 and #8 around, 2<sup>nd</sup> by Nathan Sawyer – motion carried unanimously.

<u>Agenda #3 Approve Minutes – May 6, 2021</u> - Copies of the May 6, 2021 Plan Commission minutes had been emailed to each member for their review. A motion was made by Darrell Lehman to approve the May 6, 2021 minutes with a grammatical correction, 2<sup>nd</sup> by Renee Nair – yes 6, no 0, abstain 1 - motion carried.

<u>Agenda #4 Correspondence</u> – Columbia County Planning & Zoning Committee approved the CUP for Lanzendorf. Jeff Clark, former Town Attorney, passed away on May 9, 2021 and a visitation will be held May 23, 2021.

## <u>Agenda #5 Citizen Input</u> – None

Agenda #6 Introduction of New Plan Commission Member - Ben Carlson was appointed to the Plan Commission by the Town Board at the May 13, 2021 meeting.

<u>Agenda # 7 Election of Plan Commission Officers</u> – Renee Nair nominated Darrell Lehman for Plan Commission Chair, 2<sup>nd</sup> by Ron Grasshoff. Byron Olson nominated Kevin Kessler for Plan Commission Chair, 2<sup>nd</sup> by Darrell Lehman. Nominations were closed. Nathan made a motion to close nominations, 2<sup>nd</sup> by Renee Nair – motion carried unanimously. The Plan Commission voted – Darrell Lehman -2 votes, Kevin Kessler – 4 votes, abstain - 1. Kevin Kessler was voted Plan Commission Chair. Byron Olson nominated Darrell Lehman for Plan Commission Vice-Chair, 2<sup>nd</sup> by Renee Nair. No other nominations, nominations were closed. The Plan Commission voted – Darrell Lehman – 7 votes. Darrell Lehman was voted Plan Commission Vice-Chair.

Agenda #8 Review of the Initial Application for Land Division from Grothman & Associates for Terry Shifflet – Parcel #11040-164.03 as required by Section 6.12 of the Town Ordinance - Jim Grothman presented an Initial Application for a minor land division of Parcel #11040-164.03 into four waterfront lots with a dedicated Town Road with a cul-de-sac. As part of the Initial Application, they are asking for waivers from 6.04(A)(2)(b2)(c2) restrict further division; 6.08(B)(7) Phase 1 Environmental Site Assessment; and 6.16(2)(D) Soil System design for each lot. Ron Grasshoff asked if this would have to be considered a major land division according to the definition of "Major Land Division" in our ordinance, since there was a previous division of the land in July of 2019, which is within the 5-year period. Kevin Kessler stated they could either continue as a Major Land Division or ask the Town Board for a waiver to the definition of "Major Land Division" according to the Town's Ordinance. Darrell Lehman suggested the potential of having connecting roads instead of having a deadend cul-de-sac, by moving the dedicated road to the north and plan to have a dedicated road to the south in the future in anticipation of more development. Terry Shifflet stated he doesn't own the property Darrell was talking about. Kevin Kessler suggested they have a meeting between Darrell Lehman, Ashley Nedeau-Owen and all the property owners this would involve to see if everyone could come to a meeting to consider a plan for future connectivity.

<u>Agenda #9 Chapter 12 – Roads and Driveways Ordinance – proposed revisions</u> – The Plan Commission tasked Kevin Kessler and Darrell Lehman to work on proposed revisions.

Agenda # 10 Town Board Report – Kevin Kessler reported on the May 13, 2021 Town Board meeting.

<u>Agenda #11 Next Meeting Date</u> – The next meeting will be scheduled as needed.

<u>Agenda #12 Adjourn</u> - A motion was made by Ron Grasshoff to adjourn the May 20, 2021 Plan Commission meeting,  $2^{nd}$  by Renee Nair – motion carried unanimously. The meeting was adjourned at 9:55pm.

Respectfully Submitted by *Taffy Buchanan*, Town Clerk